top of page

What Exactly is the I-Ching?

Among the various methods used for predictions, I-Ching and Numerology have gained immense popularity. The predictions are based on the various principles that these methods follow. It tries to help people to understand the changes in their lives and sometimes they gain enjoyment and solace from such predictions.

I-Ching: I-Ching is based on the ancient Chinese system of philosophy and cosmology. It refers to 'Book of Changes' and dates back to 3rd century BC. It is based on the principles and scriptures which have being interpreted over the years and has become an integral part of the Chinese culture. It is study of the balance of opposites.

The book consists of eight 'trigrams' which are three horizontal lines and 64 hexagrams which are six horizontal lines. Each hexagram is a set of two trigrams stacked together and has unique interpretation and meanings. The solid, unbroken lines represent yang and the broken, open lines represent yin. While yang refers to warmth, light and life, yin refers to cold, dark and death.

I-Ching is practiced with the help of tossing three coins. When tossing the coin, the person must focus on the question in his mind. The three coins have to be tossed six times. For example, toss three coins and depending on the head-tail ratio of the coins, a line is drawn. This is first time. Then again the three coins are tossed and a line is drawn. This process is continued until six lines have been drawn. Once a hexagram is drawn, the structure of the lines and the hexagram itself is interpreted to solve the problem.

Numerology: Numerology is study of mystical properties of numbers and has been studied for over 3000 years. It is believed that every number has a specific influence in an individual's life. It works as a tool to understand a person, his/ her nature and path of growth. The most important aspects are name of the person and the date of birth.

Each of the alphabets of English script has a number attached to it which ranges between 1 and 9. There are two types of numbers used - core number, i.e. 1 to 9 and master numbers 11 and 22. While core numbers are calculated by adding numbers, master numbers cannot be reduced to single numbers. It leads to four numbers that can help in interpretation of the person - Life Path Number, Destiny Number, Soul Number and Inner Dream Number.

Life Path Number is derived by adding the date of birth. It represents the core characteristic features of a person and is one of the most important numbers in numerology. Destiny Number is derived from the name as spelt by adding the value representation of each of the letters. It represents events, goals, one's ultimate mission in life and stands as second important number. Soul or Desire Number represents the hidden desires of a person. And finally, the Inner Dream Number which is least important but gains important with time as it represents the unrealized ideas which influence a person.

6 views0 comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page